I know what it is but WHY?

General Technical Questions and Answers last answered over 1 year ago.
You may also want to visit the Wiki(pedia) for a more structured index of T25 repair, maintenance, technical and ownership topics

Moderators: User administrators, Moderators

Brooky
80-90 Mem No: 2795

I know what it is but WHY?

Post by Brooky »

My '87 Caravelle has the usual really bad front suspension squeak. Every tiny movement results in the most evil squeaking. I know I need to renew the front upper wishbone fulcrum bushes & yes, I have checked the WIKI on this subject, so I know how to do it. I also work in a garage so I have no problem with doing the job.
My problem is that I'm a curious soul & I want to know what is rubbing against what to cause the squeak. The new bush appears to have a metal outer casing & a metal inner sleeve. I assume that there is bonded rubber between the two. The inner sleeve cannot be a tight fit on the fulcrum pin or you would not be able to remove the pin, so the bush is not subject to any torsional forces. So where does the squeak come from & why can I not cure it with spray lubrication but wet weather DOES stop it?
Brooky. :?
Member No. 2795

lone gunman
80-90 Mem No: 1044

Post by lone gunman »

It may be that the inner sleeve has stuck to the pin (corrosion most likely) and broke free from the rubber and is turning inside the bush. Of course it could be one of the other bushes that is squeaking.
Stephen AKA Lone Gunman.

Autohomes Kameo 1.9 wasserboxer

Practice gun control ... use BOTH hands.

Brooky
80-90 Mem No: 2795

Post by Brooky »